THE ROCKEFELLER UNIVERSITY

Science for the benefit of humanity

Media Contact:

ODA PR

Phone: 212.840.0888

Email: Natasha@odapr.com/Courtney@odapr.com Website: http://womenandscience.rockefeller.edu/events

The Rockefeller University's 16th Annual Women & Science Spring Lecture and Luncheon

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 22nd, 2013 (New York, NY) – On <u>Thursday, May 9</u>, The Rockefeller University will host its 16th *Annual Women & Science* Lecture and Luncheon. The event will be hosted by **President Marc Tessier-Lavigne** and held on campus at <u>1230 York Avenue at 66th Street</u>. The lecture will begin at 12 Noon, followed by a luncheon at 1:00 PM.

The speaker at this year's lecture will be Rockefeller professor **Cori Bargmann**, **Ph.D.** Dr. Bargmann is a renowned neuroscientist whose work on microscopic organism *c. elegans* has helped us understand fundamental behaviors in larger animals, and possibly even humans. A recipient of the inaugural \$3 million **Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences**, Dr. Bargmann was recently appointed by President Obama to lead a major national brain research initiative. She is the Torsten N. Wiesel Professor and Head of the Lulu and Anthony Wang Laboratory of Neural Circuits and Behavior at the University.

Samantha Boardman Rosen, M.D., Katerina Alevizaki-Dracopoulos, Judith Roth Berkowitz, Patricia Rosenwald, and Lulu C. Wang will serve as Chairs this year. Founding Chairs are Lydia A. Forbes, Isabel P. Furlaud, Nancy Kissinger and Sydney R. Shuman.

The Rockefeller University is a world-renowned center for research and graduate education in the biomedical sciences, chemistry, and physics. The University was founded by John D. Rockefeller in 1901 as the nation's first institute for medical research. Twenty-four researchers associated with Rockefeller throughout its history have been awarded the Nobel Prize.

* * *

What: Annual *Women & Science* Lecture and Luncheon

When: Thursday, May 9, 2013 12:00 noon—2:00 p.m.

Where:

The Rockefeller University

1230 York Avenue

Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Hall

Who: Dr. Cori Bargmann, Rockefeller President Marc-Tessier Lavigne, Founding Chairs Lydia Forbes, Isabel Furlaud, Nancy Kissinger, and Sydney Shuman, and 2013 Co-Chairs Katerina Alevizaki-Dracopoulos, Judith Roth Berkowitz, Samantha Boardman Rosen, M.D., Patricia Rosenwald, and Lulu C. Wang. Additional guests include Debra Black, Kathryn Chenault, Fe Fendi, Mica Ertegun, Kate Snow, Laura Slatkin, Tory Burch, Tiffany Dubin, Gail Engelberg, Patricia Farman-Farmaian, Ludmila Hess, Kara Ross, Daisy Soros, Alexia Hamm Ryan, Kathryn Pilgrim, Marean Pompidou, Peggy Noonan, Katie Leede, Alexandra Kotur, Rula Jebreal, Deeda Blair