PEARL MEISTER GREENGARD PRIZE

An International Award Recognizing Outstanding Women in Biomedical Science

The Inaugural Award Presentation and Reception

Wednesday, October 27, 2004 6:15 p.m. to 8 p.m.

The Rockefeller University

Caspary Auditorium

Inaugural Recipient:

Dr. Nicole Le Douarin

Professeur Honoraire au Collège de France Secrétaire Perpétuelle de l'Académie des Sciences



Dr. Nicole Le Douarin, Professeur Honoraire au Collège de France, Secrétaire Perpétuelle de l'Académie des Sciences, is the inaugural recipient of the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize. Dr. Le Douarin, a pioneer in the field of developmental biology, was previously the director of l'Institut d'Embryologie at the Centre National de la Recherche Scietifique, Nogent-sur-Marne. A member of the French Academy of Sciences and a foreign member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the Royal Society, she has received many other honors, including the Kyoto Prize in Advanced Technology, the Jeantet Prize for Medicine, appointment as Commander in the Légion d'Honneur and numerous honorary degrees.

The Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, awarded by The Rockefeller University, was established by Dr. Paul Greengard, the University's Vincent Astor Professor, and his wife, the sculptor Ursula von Rydingsvard. Dr. Greengard donated his entire monetary share of the 2000 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine to Rockefeller and, in partnership with generous supporters of the University, created this major international prize to be awarded annually by The Rockefeller University to an outstanding woman scientist. Named in memory of Dr. Greengard mother, the Pearl Meister Greengard Prize seeks to provide recognition of the accomplishments of women scientists.

Special Guest Speaker:

The Honorable Sandra Day O'Connor

Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court